Join our mailing list for the latest news

Merle Monroe - "Back to the Country"

Daniel Grindstaff and Tim Raybon

Daniel Grindstaff and Tim Raybon

Our goal is to choose songs that relate to everyday life and go “back to the country”. Be that with heartfelt vocals, a ballad, a hard driving banjo, or an upbeat song that takes your mind away from today’s current distractions. We have worked extremely hard looking for and writing songs we feel are different enough, yet reflective of our heroes' music from years past.

Pinecastle recording artists Merle Monroe is a band created by musicians Tim Raybon and Daniel Grindstaff. Basing their sounds from collective experiences as professionals in the music business, which essentially is a mix of vocally centered hard-driving bluegrass all the way to a tear at your heartstrings Merle Haggard style ballad. Merle Monroe believes Bluegrass, Gospel and Traditional Country music is America’s music, the stories of the common man and the sounds of the mountains. 

Merle Monroe'S Highly-Anticipated Concept Album ‘Back To The Country’ on Pinecastle Records is here!

Nashville, Tenn. – The newly formed Bluegrass band Merle Monroe is excited to announce the release of their debut project, Back To The Country, is now available!

Released via Pinecastle Records, Merle Monroe was created by members Tim Raybon and Daniel Grindstaff. On the 12-song collection, the dynamic group show exactly why Country legend Merle Haggard and Bluegrass icon Bill Monroe are the inspirations behind both their band name and signature sound. Fans can pre-order the new project here, where they’ll also be able to download and stream "Dad” right now. 

“American Music- the Carter Family, Bill Monroe, the Osborne Brothers, Jim and Jesse, Merle Haggard, Roger Miller, Flatt & Scruggs, and many others. The sounds of the great pioneers was our inspiration to record this album and form this band. Respectfully, we do our part to create something new, yet reflective of our hero’s influences and carry the torch with every song we write and sing” -Tim Raybon & Daniel Grindstaff (Merle Monroe Band) 

The first single from Back To The Country is “This Town.” The upbeat track is a remake of classic Country artist Roger Miller’s song recorded for the 1965 album, The 3rd Time Around. Merle Monroe brings a new and invigorating sound, showcasing both Tim and Daniel’s hard-driving Bluegrass style. From start to finish the group trades notes and harmonies, giving genre enthusiasts a taste of what’s to come on the full LP. With years of experience, Daniel’s frequent performances at the legendary Grand Ole Opry serves as the guiding inspiration behind “This Town.” The song and video made its premiere earlier today on Vents Magazine (watch here). 

Back To The Country consists of 12 tracks, including a combination of covers, along with all-new music written by the band. Band member Tim is no stranger to success, having previously released a Gold-certified single in the 90s of “Butterfly Kisses.” One standout song on the project is the first track, “Movin’ On,” a chart-topper previously released by Merle Haggard. Another key moment occurs on the feel-good Tim Raybon written “Singing Crazy (Like Patsy Cline),” which drops a line about the late great Patsy Cline. Perhaps the most heartfelt song is “Dad,” written by Skip Ewing. 

Back To The Country - June 21

Merle Monroe

Click on the picture to download and stream the single "DAD" now!

Back To The Country Track Listing: 
1. Movin’ On 
2. Back Where It’s At 
3. Whippoorwill 
4. Beautiful Kentucky 
5. Blessed City 
6. Hungry Eyes 
7. Singing Crazy (Like Patsy Cline) 
8. Dad 
9. I’ll Follow You 
10. He Will Roll You Over The Tide 
11. The Kindest Man 
12. This Town