press releases

Merle Monroe Releases Latest Sophomore Album ‘Songs of a Simple Life”
Featuring Brand New Single “Goodbye Marie”

Available for DJ Download on AirPlay Direct

Available for DJ Download on AirPlay Direct

Full Album Featuring 12 New Recordings Out Today via Pinecastle Records 

June 4, 2021

Nashville, Tenn. - The wait is finally over, as critically-acclaimed band Merle Monroe releases their highly-anticipated sophomore album, Songs of a Simple Life. Available today via Pinecastle Records, the project includes 12 new recordings, each spotlighting the IBMA-nominated band’s signature style which is heavily influenced by music icons Bill Monroe and Merle Haggard. Fans can download and stream the full collection HERE. 

Featured on the album is the latest single, “Goodbye Marie.” Written by Dennis Linde and Mel McDaniel, the lyrics perfectly fit the theme of the record. It was unveiled last week during a special edition of SiriusXM’s Sidetracks with host Kyle Cantrell. During the show, the band also exclusively premiered the entire project in-full for fans to hear for the very first time. Merle Monroe had another surprise earlier this week, when they also revealed another album cut called “Shelby Tell Me” on The Bluegrass Situation. Other standout recordings on Songs of a Simple Life include a must-hear rendition of “(I’d Be) A Legend In My Time” which showcases a different side of the band. Over the years, the track has been covered by Country greats like Ronnie Milsap, Johnny Cash, Roy Orbison, Waylon Jennings, etc.  

To date, the record has already produced THREE number one radio hits. With the first release “God’s Still In Control” being unveiled late spring of 2020, the song served as a leading inspiration to help get fans through the raging pandemic. It was followed by the second single “Hello Sunshine” last fall, which went on to top the Bluegrass charts for multiple weeks, becoming one of the group’s best charting songs. The track offered a glimmer of hope and optimism that was very much needed at the time. They also unveiled the hard-driving third single, “I’m Leaving Town Tonight” earlier this year which would spend multiple weeks in the top spot of the Bluegrass Today Weekly Airplay Chart. 

On Songs of a Simple Life, Merle Monroe is moving into new territory. Founded by members Tim Raybon and Danel Grindstaff, they’re charging full steam ahead. Raybon has proven himself as one of the genre’s most promising songwriters. In addition to writing THREE Number One hits for Merle Monroe over the last year, the hitmaker took his craft to new heights on the new record, penning an impressive seven cuts. Playing on the record includes Tim Raybon (vocals, guitar, bass), Daniel Grindstaff (vocals, banjo), Derek Deakins (fiddle), Kent Blanton (bass), Stephen Burwell (fiddle), Andy Leftwich (mandolin), Harry Stinson (percussion), Trey Hensley (guitar), Kevin Richardson (guitar), Gaven Largent (resophonic guitar), Harry Clark (mandolin) and Josh Swift (resophonic guitar). 

Songs of a Simple Life Track Listing:  

1. Hello Sunshine (written by Tim Raybon) 

2. Goodbye Marie (written by Dennis Linde, Mel McDaniel) 

3. I’m Leaving Town Tonight (written by Tim Raybon) 

4. Shelby Tell Me (written by Tim Raybon) 

5. Harlan Darlin’ (written by Tim Stafford, Bobby Starnes) 

6. (I’d Be) A Legend in My Time (written by Don Gibson) 

7. Roll On Muddy River (written by Vern and Rex Gosdin) 

8. Renae Rose (written by Tim Raybon) 

9. Sing His Praises Forever (written by Tim Raybon) 

10. Saginaw Michigan (written by Bill Anderson, Don Wayne)  

11. Forget About You (written by Tim Raybon) 

12. God’s Still In Control (written by Tim Raybon) 

# # #

I'm Leaving Town Tonight

Newest single from upcoming project "Songs of a simple life" Due out May 7

Single Premiered Feb. 11 on SiriusXM’s Bluegrass Junction

Nashville, Tenn. - Since Merle Monroe released their debut album in 2019, the Bluegrass group has quickly added to their list of accolades. In addition to charting multiple No. 1 hits and scoring their first IBMA nomination in 2020, they’re bringing a fresh approach to the evolving genre. With the New Year now in full swing, the band is moving to their brand new single, “I’m Leaving Town Tonight.” Written by co-founder Tim Raybon, the recording made its world premiere this morning on SiriusXM’s Bluegrass Junction. 

“We are very appreciative to our fans and our friends in radio for the support of our music - your support makes this worthwhile,” says Merle Monroe co-founders Daniel Grindstaff and Tim Raybon. “We hope you enjoy “I’m leaving town tonight” and can’t wait for you all to hear the upcoming project!”

“I’m Leaving Town Tonight” serves as the latest release from the band’s upcoming album Songs of a Simple Life, set for release on May 7. The sophomore project will pick up right where the debut Back to the Country left off, by writing the next chapter in the rising band’s story. “I’m Leaving Town Tonight” is an upbeat recording that is the perfect way to showcase what fans can expect from the full collection. It tells the story about leaving to escape all your troubles, but with a unique twist. Heavily inspired by their main influences Merle Haggard and Bill Monroe, that connection is clearly heard in the group’s signature sound. 

Music enthusiasts got their first taste of the album in the form of the lead single, “God’s Still in Control” in 2020. To date, the song has struck a chord with fans, going on to spend multiple weeks at No. 1 on the Bluegrass Today Gospel Weekly Airplay Chart, along with Roots Music Report.  Last fall, Merle Monroe unveiled the second single “Hello Sunshine,” which has gone on to become arguably their most successful hit to date. The anthem has spent several weeks at No. 1 on the Bluegrass Today Weekly Airplay Chart, with Music Row Magazine saying, “Happy, toe-tapping music of new love. Love these close-harmony, fleet-fingered guys.”

# # #


Merle Monroe Nominated for New Artist of the Year for IBMA

IBMA World of Bluegrass 2020